Mediocre by Ijeoma Oluo

Mediocre by Ijeoma OluoEnter for a chance to win a finished copy of Ijeoma Oluo's MEDIOCRE: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America.

From the author of the New York Times bestseller So You Want to Talk About Race, a subversive history of white male American identity.

What happens to a country that tells generation after generation of white men that they deserve power? What happens when success is defined by status over women and people of color, instead of by actual accomplishments?

Through the last 150 years of American history-from the post-Reconstruction South and the mythic stories of cowboys in the West, to the present-day controversy over NFL protests and the backlash against the rise of women in politics-Ijeoma Oluo exposes the devastating consequences of white male supremacy on women, people of color, and white men themselves. Mediocre investigates the real costs of this phenomenon in order to imagine a new white male identity, one free from racism and sexism.

As provocative as it is essential, this book will upend everything you thought you knew about American identity and offers a bold new vision of American greatness.

Demon King by Elizabeth Briggs

Demon King by Elizabeth BriggsEnter for a chance to win a signed copy of Demon King, the first book in a brand new paranormal romance series from NYT bestselling author Elizabeth Briggs.

I made a deal with the devil. Now he’s claimed me as his mate.

When my best friend goes missing in Las Vegas, there’s only one man I can turn to for help.

Lucas Ifer. Billionaire playboy. CEO of Abaddon Inc. King of Sin City. And…the devil himself?

Lucas—aka Lucifer—agrees to help me, but in exchange he wants one thing: me.

He’s dark, dangerous, and wickedly handsome. Oh, and evil incarnate. I should say no, but I can’t. I’m that desperate.

But when you make a deal with the devil, there's no escaping it. Now he owns my body for seven nights of sin. Even worse, he owns my soul for all eternity.

I’m Persephone being claimed by Hades, and I have no choice but to enter his underworld and become his dark queen.

Is there any light left in that black heart? Or will his darkness consume me?

Demon King is a sinfully sexy Hades and Persephone story with a Lucifer twist, perfect for fans of Laura Thalassa, Amelia Hutchins, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Sarah J. Maas.

Jacobo's Rainbow by David Hirshberg

Jacobo's Rainbow by David HirshbergJACOBO’S RAINBOW is an historical literary novel set primarily in the nineteen sixties during the convulsive period of the student protest movements and the Vietnam War. It focuses on the issue of being an outsider, an altogether common circumstance that resonates with readers in today’s America. It speaks to universal truths that affect us all.

It’s a story of triumph over adversity (hypocrisy, loss, lies, murder, concealment, prejudice) that’s told with vivid descriptions, perceptive insights, humor and sensitivity, which enables the reader to identify with the characters who come to life to illustrate who we are, how we behave, and what causes us to change.

“A beautiful novel set in the past but perfectly, scarily, relevant to our current moment.”—Gary Shteyngart, author of Lake Success

“Jacobo’s Rainbow is a sweeping examination of the unique buckle in time that was the ‘Sixties,’ told from the perspective of the ultimate outsider. Jacobo’s journey takes him from a remote enclave to a college campus, where he becomes immersed in the Free Speech movement, and to the battlefields of Vietnam. His insights and observations about society, his peers, bigotry and anti-Semitism are both trenchant and currently relevant to the culture wars and threats to free speech we see on our college campuses and society at large today. Jacobo’s Rainbow is a deeply moving, sensitive, and profound novel—a definite must-read.”—Marcia Clark, author of Blood Defense and Final Judgme

The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhadar

The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhadar**ENTER FOR A CHANCE TO WIN AN EARLY FINISHED COPY OF THE THIRTY NAMES OF NIGHT!**

By the author of THE MAP OF SALT AND STARS, a 2018 Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist, comes a stunning new novel that is "a vivid exploration of loss, art, queer and trans communities, and the persistence of history." - R.O. Kwon, author of The Incendiaries

Five years after a suspicious fire killed his ornithologist mother, a closeted Syrian American trans boy spends his days cooped up in his grandmother’s apartment as her sole caretaker. The only time he feels truly free is when he slips out at night to paint murals on buildings in the once-thriving neighborhood of Little Syria. One night, he enters an abandoned house and finds the tattered journal of a Syrian American artist named Laila Z, who dedicated her career to painting the birds of North America. She mysteriously disappeared more than 60 years before but her journal contains proof that both Laila Z encountered the same rare bird the boy’s mother had been searching for before her death. In fact, Laila Z’s past is intimately tied to his mother’s—and his grandmother’s—in ways he never could have expected. Even more surprising, Laila Z’s story reveals the histories of queer and transgender people within his own community that he never knew.

The Project by Courtney Summers

The Project by Courtney SummersThe next pulls-no-punches thriller from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Courtney Summers, about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister from a cult.

"The Unity Project saved my life."

Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died, Lo's sister, Bea, joined The Unity Project, leaving Lo in the care of their great aunt. Thanks to its extensive charitable work and community outreach, The Unity Project has won the hearts and minds of most in the Upstate New York region, but Lo knows there's more to the group than meets the eye.

"The Unity Project murdered my son."

When a man shows up at the magazine Lo works for claiming The Unity Project killed his son, Lo sees the perfect opportunity to expose the group and reunite with Bea once and for all. When her investigation puts her in the direct path of its charismatic and mysterious leader, Lev Warren, he proposes a deal: if she can prove the worst of her suspicions about The Unity Project, she may expose them. If she can't, she must finally leave them alone.

But as Lo delves deeper into The Project, the lives of its members, and spends more time with Lev, it upends everything she thought she knew about her sister, herself, cults, and the world around her--to the point she can no longer tell what's real or true.

Welcome to The Unity Project.

Enter for a chance to win an ARC of THE PROJECT today

Natalie Portman's Fables by Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman's Fables by Natalie PortmanEnter for a chance to win one of 25 finished copies of NATALIE PORTMAN'S FABLES!

Academy Award-winning actress, director, producer, and activist Natalie Portman retells three classic fables and imbues them with wit and wisdom.

From realizing that there is no “right” way to live to respecting our planet and learning what really makes someone a winner, the messages at the heart of Natalie Portman’s Fables are modern takes on timeless life lessons.

Told with a playful, kid-friendly voice and perfectly paired with Janna Mattia’s charming artwork, Portman’s insightful retellings of The Tortoise and the Hare, The Three Little Pigs, and Country Mouse and City Mouse are ideal for reading aloud and are sure to become beloved additions to family libraries.

Black Canary by Alexandra Monir

Black Canary by Alexandra MonirEnter for a chance to win one of 3 signed advance copies of the highly-anticipated new DC ICONS standalone novel, BLACK CANARY: BREAKING SILENCE, by bestselling author Alexandra Monir. In this thrilling YA origin story, Dinah Lance's voice is her weapon--and in a near-future Gotham City where women are forbidden to sing, she must use everything she has, including her song, to fight back. A page-turner that Kirkus Reviews calls 'a refreshing spin on the feminist dystopia'.

Dinah Lance was eight years old when she overheard the impossible: the sound of a girl singing. It was something she was never meant to hear--not in her lifetime and not in Gotham City, taken over by the vicious, patriarchal Court of Owls. The sinister organization rules Gotham City as a dictatorship and has stripped women of most of their rights--including the right to make music.

Now 17, Dinah can't forget that haunting sound, and she's beginning to discover that her own voice is just as powerful. But singing is forbidden, a one-way ticket to Arkham Asylum. Fighting to balance her father's desire to keep her safe, a blossoming romance with mysterious new student Oliver Queen, and her own need to help other women and girls rise up, Dinah wonders if her song will finally be heard.

Winners will each receive a signed, bound manuscript 2 months before the book's release, followed by the finished hardcover after the 12/29 publication date.